Halo at Gamescom 2014 – Here’s What to Look out For & $10,000 Halo 2: Anniversary Tournament

Share this:

If you a fan of Halo, you’ll want to watch developer 343 Industries’ actions like a hawk during this years’ Gamescom event in Cologne, Germany.

If you can’t make it all the way to the land of beer and pretzels, that’s okay. Xbox has got you covered with the ‘when’ and ‘where’ to get filled in with all the latest Halo news. Here’s what’s happening at Gamescom 2014:

First off, you’ll want to watch Microsoft’s official media briefing at Twitch.tv/Xbox on Tuesday, August 2 at 2PM CEST / 8AM EST. (Yes, that’s a gruelling 5AM start for Xbox fans on the West Coast.) There’ll be a few announcement you may not want to miss.

On the show floor, attendees will get a crack Halo 2: Anniversary multiplayer on Ascension and a brand new remake that will be announced at Gamescom. That will make it the fourth map to be revealed since the Zanzibar and Coagulation‘s return last month. Again, you’ll be able to watch some of the new content streamed over on Xbox’s official Twitch channel linked above.

Last, but certainly not least, is Halo: The Master Chief Collection Gamescom Showdown, a “legendary” 4v4 tournament brought to you by ESL and Twitch. It will be open to all Gamescom attendees and will feature a $10,000 USD prize pool to be divvied up amongst the winners. Four days of qualifications will take place while the grand finals will be streamed on Twitch.tv/Halo on Sunday, August 17. More details can be found over on the Halo Waypoint. Here’s the full schedule:

Wednesday, August 13 – ESL Arena, Hall 9: Qualifier tournament \\ 14:00 to 19:30 CEST

Thursday, August 14 – ESL Arena, Hall 9: Qualifier tournament \\ 10:00 to 19:30 CEST

Friday, August 15 – ESL Arena, Hall 9: Qualifier tournament \\ 10:00 to 19:30 CEST

Saturday, August 16 – ESL Arena, Hall 9: Qualifier tournament \\ 09:00 to 19:30 CEST

Sunday, 17th August – ESL Arena Main Stage, Hall 9 (Watch the finals on Twitch.tv/Halo!): Pre-tournament Free-for-All \\ 10:30 to 11:15 CEST (1:30 to 2:15 AM PDT), 4v4 Tournament Final \\ 11:30 to 17:00 CEST (2:30 AM to 8:00 AM PDT)

You can use this handy timezone converter to make sense of all the exact times.

For those curious, here’s the breakdown of the $10,000 USD prize pool.

1st Place: $5,000 USD

2nd Place: $1,500 USD

3rd/4th Place: $750 USD

5th-8th Place:  $500 USD

So, who’s going to actually be at Gamescom this year? A show of hands in the comments. If not, keep your sights on MP1st for all the latest Halo updates!

settings

close