Here’s What the PS4 Messaging Glitch Message Looks Like, Preliminary Fix Detailed

Share this:

Just a few hours ago, we broke a story on how people are getting messages on PS4 that in turn, froze/locked their consoles. While we don’t know what messages to avoid, we at least now know what the actual PS4 message glitch image looks like!

Thanks to user Huntstark, check out how this seemingly innocuous message can wreck havoc on your expensive PS4.

Here's What the PS4 Messaging Glitch Message Looks Like, Preliminary Fix Detailed

So what to do if your PS4 gets affected, or in this case, infected? There is a preliminary fix before Sony (hopefully) rolls out a proper way to make sure this doesn’t affect anyone.

ResetEra user kennyamr listed a way which can foil this nasty PS4 message glitch, and you won’t even need to restore the console to its factory settings!

If one of those messages are sent to you, just turn off the console.
Take the phone app and erase the message.
Then press down the power button for 7 seconds to make the PS4 go into Safe Mode.
Finally proceed to Rebuild the Database to fix the problem. (This is not factory reset, nothing will be erased).
Of course, after all that, report the dummy account to Sony.

Others say that removing the message from the phone app is enough to fix the problem, but there are some conflicting reports on this.

I guess you can try just removing the message with your phone and wait a few minutes first.

Note that this isn’t a sure-fire way to fix this glitch, but so far so good, it seems to be working. In the meantime, make sure you change your messages to private. If you’re unsure how to do that, here’s a step-by-step instruction:

  • Go to the PS4 messages app/icon
  • Once you can see your messages, click the “Options” button on your controller
  • Click on “Privacy Settings (Messages)”
  • Enter your password
  • Change it to “Friends Only” or “No One”

Obviously, restricting your social interaction to just your online friends isn’t ideal, but it’ll have to do for now, lest you want to go through all that hassle in fixing the

settings

close