Battlefield 3: Aftermath First Details – Key Features Listed and More On Setting

DICE and EA have revealed the first details of the fourth Battlefield 3 expansion pack, Aftermath.

The expansion pack will be “set amongst the shattered districts, streets and surrounding villages of a post-earthquake Tehran Battlefield 3: Aftermath depicts a continuing struggle for supremacy and survival amongst the devastation,” reads Battlefield 3’s Aftermath official promotional page, as it was announced at E3.

DICE added, “With operational capacity severely compromised the opposing forces must adapt and engage in vertical and horizontal urban combat amongst the dust and rubble with cracks and fissures in the terrain providing unexpected cover and paths to objectives. Additional support comes in the form of heavily modified troop transports and civilian vehicles specially adapted to deliver deadly force to the enemy.”

Key Features

  • Urban warfare on four new maps
  • Fight through the dust and rubble, use the earthquake damaged terrain to your tactical advantage
  • New heavily modified military and civilian vehicles – ingenuity and firepower combined
  • New game mode
  • New assignments, achievements and dog tags

Update 1: It’s unclear whether Aftermath will also pack in new weapons or not, since another promotional page lists new weapons as one of the expansion pack’s features.

  • 4 new maps
  • New weapons
  • New vehicles
  • and more

Update 2: When asked if Armored Kill will include new weapons, the official Battlefield Twitter account stated, “No, the Armored Kill will not include weapons. New weapons will come with Aftermath.”

Aftermath is expected to release in December 2012 for PC, PS3, and Xbox 360.

Featured image: Concept Art from Aftermath, here’s a full size version (click to enlarge):

Here’s the cover art for Aftermath that was released earlier this year:

Thanks, D0n7bl1nk

Previous Post

Next Post

Top Games and Upcoming Releases