Rocket League Free to Play Release Date Announced for September 23

Share this:

In case you didn’t catch it, Psyonix announced that Rocket League was going free-to-play back in July. While we didn’t know exactly when that will happen at the time other than in “summer,” the studio revealed the Rocket League free to play release date and it’s September 23!

If you want to be more specific, it’ll be September 23 at 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT/3 p.m. UTC/11 p.m. HKT! There’s also going to be an in-game event to commemorate this called the Llama-Rama happening soon after launch with more details to be shared next week. There’s a new cinematic trailer out for this embedded below.

There will be a Rocket League patch making its way out tomorrow to prepare the game’s transition to F2P. Psyonix has posted a quick rundown of whats included in tomorrow’s patch.

WHAT’S IN THIS ROCKET LEAGUE UPDATE? 

CROSS-PLATFORM PROGRESSION

You’ll be able to link your platforms to your Epic Games Account starting tomorrow for existing players! For all the details on cross-platform progression, check out last month’s blog.

LEGACY STATUS AND ITEMS

For those who already own Rocket League and are eligible for Legacy Status, the items that were revealed in July (Golden Cosmos Boost, “Est. 20XX” Player Banner, Rocket League-branded DLC, etc.) will hit your inventories with tomorrow’s update.

SUPPORT-A-CREATOR

In addition to joining the Epic Games Store, Rocket League will also be joining Epic’s Support-A-Creator program. You can choose to support a Creator of your choice in-game by entering the Creator’s code in the Item Shop, beginning tomorrow with the game update. For Rocket League, accepted Creators will earn 5% of Credits spent while using their Creator Code. Codes for Creators currently in the program will work in Rocket League starting tomorrow. There are many of your favorite Rocket League creators already part of the system and more will be added in the near future. If you’re interested in becoming a Creator, go to the Epic Support-A-Creator page for more information.

OTHER THINGS IN TOMORROW’S UPDATE:

  • New Quick Chats

  • Heatseeker in Private Matches

  • Larger item pool for Trade Ups

  • Solo Standard removed

  • New Bot difficulty

  • New Merc Hitbox

  • Rocket League X Monstercat Remixes

  • Updated Menu

  • Changes to Achievements

With the game entering F2P, the studio will kick of Season 1, which we’ll know more about next week. There will also be Competitive Tournaments, Game-Wide Challenges and new Packs available on the F2P launch day as well.

Once the patch is out tomorrow, we’ll let our readers know.

Source: Rocket League

settings

close